



Doc. 15574 27 June 2022

Europe must not compromise with regard to the rule of law in Poland

Written declaration No. 744

This written declaration commits only those who have signed it

We, the undersigned, declare the following:

On 1 June 2022, the European Commission endorsed Poland's €35.4 billion recovery plan. In its resolution 2022/2703(RSP), the European Parliament expressed its worry that the Commission's milestones are not enough and called on the Council to not approve the plan until all conditions are met.

We see the Commission's approval as a departure from its role as guardian of the treaties and appeasement towards rule of law backsliding in Europe. The agreed measures do not ensure Poland's compliance with EU standards or with the rulings of the European Court of Justice and the European Court of Human Rights.

These milestones do not address the illegitimate Constitutional Tribunal or National Council of the Judiciary. They do not guarantee that judges illegally suspended by the so-called Disciplinary Chamber of the Supreme Court such as Igor Tuleya, Piotr Gąciarek or Maciej Ferek, are reinstated, or that the prosecution service ceases its repression of government's political opponents such as Senate speaker Tomasz Grodzki or attorney Roman Giertych, activists such as Marta Lempart and Bartosz Kramek, or entrepreneurs and executives such as Piotr Osiecki and Jakub Karnowski.

We call on European institutions not to disburse any funds until compliance with EU law and values is guaranteed.

Signed (see overleaf)



Signed¹:

UNNELAND Andreas Sjalg, Norway, UEL ADONIS Andrew, United Kingdom, SOC ANTONIAZZI Tonia, United Kingdom, SOC BAKER Duncan, United Kingdom, EC/DA BEN CHIKHA Fourat, Belgium, SOC BERG Caspar, Van den, Netherlands, ALDE BOER Margreet, De, Netherlands, SOC CASTEL Laura, Spain, UEL CILEVIČS Boriss, Latvia, SOC FILATOV Tarja, Finland, SOC FRIDEZ Pierre-Alain, Switzerland, SOC GALLES Paul, Luxembourg, EPP/CD GAVAN Paul, Ireland, UEL GIOVAGNOLI Gerardo, San Marino, SOC HOPSU Inka, Finland, SOC JONES Ruth, United Kingdom, SOC JUFEREVA-SKURATOVSKI Maria, Estonia, ALDE LACROIX Christophe, Belgium, SOC MARILOTTI Gianni, Italy, SOC MODERT Octavie, Luxembourg, EPP/CD MONTEMAGGI Marica, San Marino, SOC MOUTQUIN Simon, Belgium, SOC O'LOUGHLIN Fiona, Ireland, ALDE O'REILLY Joseph, Ireland, EPP/CD PERILLI Gianluca, Italy, SOC PISCO Paulo, Portugal, SOC RAMPI Roberto, Italy, SOC SCHENNACH Stefan, Austria, SOC SHEPPARD Tommy, United Kingdom, NR

Total = 29

1. ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe

EC/DA: European Conservatives Group and Democratic Alliance

EPP/CD: Group of the European People's Party SOC: Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group

UEL: Group of the Unified European Left

NR: Representatives not belonging to a Political Group